May Day!

This is a special day for me. It is my ninth anniversary. My wife, Nancy and I met nine years ago tonight at an event to honor the Spirit of the season. Fertility, spreading the seed and anticipation of great things to come exemplify this time. Sincere apologies to those  living below the equator, put it in your datebook to come back and read this in six moons. I was overwhelmed that night, so long ago, it seems like yesterday.

I have been blessed, every day since then, with a love so strong that I feel empowered to be my best. We have fought through thick and thin to remain open to the gifts that we receive, and to be the best folks possible, for one another and ourselves. Fighting against things usually turns out like the B’rer Rabbit story about the Tar Baby. When you set yourself in opposition to anything, there is the universal law that creates the very thing that you thought worthy of your hatred. Justification, though it may be a fascination for humans, points to lies and dissolution.

In the spirit of the time, Bless you all and may you find ever increasing happiness and vitality! As we plant our May Poles, don’t forget to throw anything you want the earth to swallow in the hole. Bless the pole and recite prayers for every good thing as you dance. Birthing a new culture requires many and sustained labors. Planting is the first step toward any harvest, so I say to you, plant your seeds carefully and with great love. The fruits that they will bear will sustain you and those you love for generations.

Many moons ago, I danced my first May pole. It was an ill-conceived attempt to recreate Pagan ceremony with a steel pole and crepe paper. Needless to say, it turned out great, just not the way we had thought, that event inspired me to be more, ask for only what I needed, be happier with the results of sincere effort and to plant seeds carefully selected and placed carefully in the most welcoming soil that I can find. The results have been spectacular!

About otherfishwrap

One of the last of the Baby Boomers, I remember where I was when JFK was shot. Good story. Born during the Cuban Missile Crisis, my life has been spent studying, practicing skills and attitudes that reflect justice and the sanctity of Earth, Air, Fire, Water & Spirit. Trained as an educator, my life has been devoted to cultural development and social justice.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

