Japanese Catastrophe Approaches US Shores

Now, I know that weather is unpredictable. Having watched and studied meteorology since childhood, I have a pretty good sense of what to look for when trying to make predictions about coming storms. I am always amazed at the propensity of some to be on the side of ‘the glass is half full’ even as the majority is telling them that it is really half empty, and I do have some empthy for the former opinion. A great friend’s Mom used to say, after a huge volcano, with thousands dead,  “there will be beautiful sunsets.” I’m not quite that optimistic, but there is some truth to that approach to problem solving. Looking at the air masses that continue to absorb huge clouds of radioactive material, it is hard to guess where they will end up. Luckily, anyone can check out weather maps of the North Pacific, and if they can figure what air was contaminated, follow the air mass’s progress across the great ocean.

Having lived through Three Mile Island, and living downwind as I did, I know all about how governments respond to emergency situations. first, they downplay the risk, then minimize the numbers of people affected and finally after the tradgedy becomes more obvious they try to tell you that it really wasn’t that bad. remember the first days of this most recent event? The death toll startted out at twenty and went up in increments of twenty all through that first day. Now we are learning that twenty thousand was probably a better first guess at the number of deaths. When towns of a million dissappear, chances are that not everyone got out alive. Tsunami alerts were supposed to give locals an hour warning, but when that time shrinks to six minutes, verey few get out alive.

Similarly, when the radiation that people are exposed to is as much as they usually receive all year in a single hour, well, that’s a problem. It has been like that for days and the air mass that was over northern Japan when that news was reported is coming closer to the lower 48. I have tracked the clouds. At first, they ambled Northward toward the Aleutian Islands. In an odd way I thought that would be a good thing because they are sparsely populated. About the time I started to relax, the air mass stalled and turned Southeast. Now, it looks like that same air mass that I have been tracking is being pulled much further South. It is about 1/2 way between the Aleutian Islands and the Pacific Northwest. I can’t say for sure that there were no releases of radioactive material earlier, but when I first heard of radiation being released, I started watching these developing weather systems.  It has been a week, but the air is finally reaching across the Pacific and getting ready to make landfall. I don’t want to upset anyone, or cause a panic, but I thought it might help some people if I mentioned what I am going to do when the radiation gets to my neck of the woods. It will be several more days for folks in the Great Lakes Region, but I have already laid in a supply of sea vegetables, dulse and Thyroid Activator, from Nature’s Sunshine Products out in Utah. The body that is deficient in iodine integrates the radioactive form into cells and tissues that stay woth you for a very long time. Dose response is based on two things. How much and for how long, having theraputic amounts of iodine before the radiation gets here is important so that your body is not absorbing “hot” iodine in the place of the healthy kind. From what I have been able to find, about eight to ten times the RDA is considered both safe and effective for use in radiation exposure. That is about 1000-1100 micrograms (the RDA is 150 mcg.) per day.

In addition, I will be covering my garden beds and trying to make sure that no dust settles on them during the time that fallout might be occurring. I figure safe is far better than sorry and even though we are thousands of miles away, I don’t want to take a chance. The extra precautions that I am taking may be, or sound extreme, but having lived through TMI and the lies they told about what was going on there, I’m not willing to take anyone’s word for how safe I should feel.

Very high levels of radiation were detectd eighty miles from Harrisburg, Pennsylvania for two weeks before anything was said about problems with the reactor at Three Mile Island. The optimum time frame for using iodine is from 48 hours before exposure to about eight hours after exposure. I’ll leave it to you to decide which is better. by the time the “news” gets around to telling you that there is an invisible danger, I assure you that it will be too late.

When and if the air moves over us, I for one, will stay indoors. Of course, I will have to go out at some point, and then I will probably don a painter’s paper suit, with gloves and booties. I will tape the arms and legs closed and wear my respirator while outdoors then strip down, discarding the outer coveralls in the trash before coming in and washing right away. Again, my efforts may be for naught, but I will feel better knowing that I am doing everything possible to avoid exposure. I only wish that all of this trauma and turmoil could have been avoided, but the big money was on the other side of the equation. Now, for many, there will be hell to pay. Thanks guys, perhaps one day, you will all grow up and realize that with every freedom comes a new level of responsibility. please, heed my warning and take the time to care for yourself.

We are at the mercy of the prevailing winds. In time, the results of this accident will become known. i just want everyone to be as safe and healthy as possible. That is why I post this now. May you put this information to good use.

Blessed Be!

About otherfishwrap

One of the last of the Baby Boomers, I remember where I was when JFK was shot. Good story. Born during the Cuban Missile Crisis, my life has been spent studying, practicing skills and attitudes that reflect justice and the sanctity of Earth, Air, Fire, Water & Spirit. Trained as an educator, my life has been devoted to cultural development and social justice.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

