#20 The Spirituality Gene

I really wanted to write a long entry about this. About the science that led to the detection of the gene, the implications it has for society, why some people feel the need for organized religion and several other tangential issues. Instead, I’m enjoying my own spiritual quest enough that I’m giving readers a break. Suffice it to say, scientists have discovered what they are calling the spirituality gene. It is found, expressed is the accurate word most often in people involved in the “giving” fields. That is to say, teaching, nursing, believe it or not, bar tending. By no means are all the people in these professions genetically prone to have the gene, it’s just more likely that they do have it turned on. The professions that have been found to be least likely to be expressing the gene, or that are missing it completely in their make up, are clergy.

This may get me in a difficult position with some of the priests and priestesses, imams, pastors and rabbis but think about it for just one moment. Lacking the essential part of your being, that allows one to feel completely at one with one’s maker, could lead to inordinate hunger to find that union through whatever gyrations the culture makes available. I have no problem with wanting things, but to truly develop as spiritual creatures, we must let go of things, perhaps the desire to commune, if it is not in a person’s DNA, is best left to those who innately reflect the giving nature of creator and to just get behind the folks who this stuff comes naturally to.

Since childhood, I have recognized in myself a sense of union. When the word yoga was explained to me, as a young teen, as translatable to English as union, it made perfect sense. One with All. That was the deepest sense of myself that I could describe. It transcended the divide that often developed between the bullies and myself. It allowed forgiveness to stay firmly in my mind’s eye, even during the abusive and threatening situations that came my way in life. I am nothing, if not the embodied energy of the same creator that spawned the universe and I have no question about the source of my power, my desires or my deepest darkest thoughts and ideas. The fears that many express, that erupt from basic boring bull dookie, leave me more mystified than the nature of God, Goddess, salvation and the divine. Perhaps it is all the Psychology Today magazines that I read as a child, perhaps it is part of my own inner make-up, but I have recognized the ego, especially what my wife calls the negative ego as a severe limiting agent in the development of human beings and whole cultures as well. Desire is a trap, desirelessness is moksha (liberation) When we all realize the truth of the fact that we are all one, one with all, and here together, human development will blossom like it never has before. We need to change our spiritual focus from religion that divorces humankind from the spiritual plane, in order to provide the conduit from our mundane existence to the spirit world. We instead need to discover and encourage the sense that we are all unique reflections of the eternal and that our mortal vessels, as transient as they are, only serve creator when they are directed to good works.

Blessings on your journey!

About otherfishwrap

One of the last of the Baby Boomers, I remember where I was when JFK was shot. Good story. Born during the Cuban Missile Crisis, my life has been spent studying, practicing skills and attitudes that reflect justice and the sanctity of Earth, Air, Fire, Water & Spirit. Trained as an educator, my life has been devoted to cultural development and social justice.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

