Snapshot of “My World”

In 1987, I rode my bicycle around all five Great Lakes, to share what I knew about living sustainably. Over ten million people heard about my effort My goal is to plant a tree for each of those people and hope that it reflects their growth into a more sustainable way of life that reduced negative impacts on the earth as well as providing infinite abundance!

About otherfishwrap

One of the last of the Baby Boomers, I remember where I was when JFK was shot. Good story. Born during the Cuban Missile Crisis, my life has been spent studying, practicing skills and attitudes that reflect justice and the sanctity of Earth, Air, Fire, Water & Spirit. Trained as an educator, my life has been devoted to cultural development and social justice.
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Snapshot of “My World”

  1. Twenty-five years ago today I was nearly around Lake Superior from my home in Green Bay. I was within 220 Km (about 136 miles) of Sault. Sainte Marie. The bike I rode was purchased for thirty dollars, a black Sanwa. Before Embarking on this trip, I added about one hundred dollars in rack and panniers, stiched a handlebar bad out of leather and invested in a Biopace chainwheel set along with a new crank assembly, On super sale, about another $100. Having put the bike through it’s paces for one thousand miles, except for a few broken spokes, and a sabotaged rear wheel (which I had carried, along with an extra tube in my pack.) had provided mw with no impairments of my forward progress. This was the day that I slipsreamed a motorhome and made it over two miles, downhill, in about two minutes. that night I slept about fifty feet from traffic but could feel the footfalls of ancients along the rocks. After I was well out of the area I learned that there are pictographs near where I had passed, immediately after my hair-raising ride. If I had not been affected by adrenaline, I probably would have found them on my own.

Leave a Reply

