How Many Miles?

When I began my life as a blogger, I thought that just one would be enough.
Now, I can envision several more, but that will have to wait until I begin to generate an income from my writing. For now, four will need to be enough! You can read me at The Othrfish Wrap, which grew out of my eco-friendly fanzine that I began publishing in 1984. The local not-for-profit organization that my wife and I started about seven years ago focuses on reforestation, no trace camping skills, sustainability education, health and wellness, etc. The blog that tells our story is ECO-Tours of Wisconsin Inc. Apart from this blog, I can also be found writing occasionally at Paganspace.net as Saladman.

I just added up the visits from the three of four blogs that allow me to follow the readership and today, the number of miles that I pedaled my bicycle around the Great Lakes is identical to the numbers of readers that have visited my blogs. 4,280. Granted, that was by the highway signs and they can lie. It was actually quite a bit further, but that is another matter. Each and every mile of that adventure is seared in my memory and for each mile I have found a reader. Just as I made commitments to each and every mile of my route, I have made connections to each and every reader and hopefully inspired them to do equally unique things to reestablish a relationship with planet earth.

We frequently find ourselves at a loss for how to get behind massive projects because the sheer numbers seem daunting. My planning for a route of 4,280 miles sounded like a lark until I got two moons into the ride and realized that I still had nearly 1,000 miles to go! I did complete the journey in 80 days, like I planned, but only by riding the last twenty four hours without a break. Finding readers who are attracted to what I write has been far more rewarding than riding some of the miles along the shores of the Great Lakes, only because I was unsure if the landscape was even capable of understanding the nature of what I was trying to do. It is complicated for me to [put into words what my goals were.

I wanted to use as many media outlets as possible to raise awareness of ecological issues, how to live better for less and the importance of living lightly on the planet so that everyone has a better chance of getting their needs met as well. To this end, I was infinitely more successful than I had dreamed possible. One morning alone, during the morning commute, I was carried live on CBC radio, speaking to six million listeners! The carbon dioxide that I breathed on the hundreds of billions of plants along the way had a major effect, but those people, I always wonder how effective I was at reaching them!

with my worldwide audience of blog readers, I have little to go on about how effective my messages and meanings are, unless someone takes the time to write a comment, I may not have had any idea whether I “spoke” to the reader, or was just hearing my own voice in the void of digital mediation. There is truly a din of bloggers going at the keyboard like so many blindfolded monkeys, I’m not sure whether a single word can even make a difference anymore. I choose to believe that they can and do make a difference, that is a big part of why I write. Thank-you for taking the time to read my work and thank-you in advance for checking our my other blogs as well.

I am available for private discussions and sharing more of what I have learned in my fifty years with seekers and folks trying to heal from the scars and stresses of the world, so if you have questions, don’t hesitate to contact me. I ask that whatever value you might place on my work and insight, be offered as donations to ECO-Tours of Wisconsin Inc. If you would like to Paypal, our account there is at tnsaladino42@hotmail.com. Or snail mail works for some and our address is: 1445 Porlier street, Green Bay, WI 54301-3334 USA. We do not spend ECO-Tours money on anything but trees and dirt to plant them in. All of our labor is volunteer. we are closing in on over three million tree seeds planted and we have also planted over thirty thousand trees and seedlings. I will try to post a few more pictures, but when you are as busy as we are planting, you too might forget to use the camera from time to time.

About otherfishwrap

One of the last of the Baby Boomers, I remember where I was when JFK was shot. Good story. Born during the Cuban Missile Crisis, my life has been spent studying, practicing skills and attitudes that reflect justice and the sanctity of Earth, Air, Fire, Water & Spirit. Trained as an educator, my life has been devoted to cultural development and social justice.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

