172 Posts 2 1/2 Years

ImageIf you have explored the blogosphere a bit, I hope that you realize that rather than a generalized, and personal journal, although it has become that at times, I try to bring a working knowledge of the subject of sustainability to this forum. I try to bring specific ideas into focus that can allow us to make appropriate decisions for our lives, our sustenance, our interaction with the environment and one another that will enhance the abundant nature of the world around us as well as heal some of the injuries that have resulted from both the plague of bad ideas, environmental abuses and ignorance that has been the legacy of much of modern culture. I try to write many of my entries as stand alone articles, reporting on difficulties that have been part of my specific backyard, Wisconsin, the U.S. and the entire globe. I consider not only humankind, but the entire animal and microbial kingdom, family. As you read my writing, I hope that becomes clear.

Much of the reason for my blog is to continue to share some of the basic facts about Permaculture, ECO-Ethics and Trees, help re-define the terms of our debate about environmental protection and share what has worked for me in becoming more intimate with Mother Earth. Expressing myself about this journey helps in finding the right niche where I can flourish. This is not to say that it is a one size fits all solution, but a jumping off point for others to use to adapt and create their own relationships will help create and feed relationships with their own unique surroundings.

I have continued to offer all of my posts free of charge, but at this time I am working double time to make ends meet and continue to plant native trees across Northeast Wisconsin. My life partner and I started a not-for-profit that has planted over sixty thousand tree seedlings and a group of friends locally had planted nearly the same number over twice as many years before we organized officially. We ask folks who believe in reforestation, sustainability and reclaiming the landscape to both fix carbon and protect our water resources to give what they can to assist with our work. Donations do not have to be large, what you can afford to give will go a long way to making our next plant-in a success.

I am proud to say that all of our efforts have been done with volunteer hours. Not a single staff person has ever been paid. It makes for a different sort of organization, but there are none more efficient at meeting their goals and mission. 100% of the funds we raise go directly to buying tree seedlings or land to put them on. If you want to let us know which activity you would prefer your donations go to, we would be glad to oblige. I continue to offer the writings here for free and without advertizing, but if the right company is interested in advertizing here, I would gladly accept ads from companies that have demonstrated credible commitments to transitioning toward sustainability and that have a good record of good stewardship. Hint, hint.

In trying to think about how much to give to a local not-for-profit that transforms the planet one tree at a time, ask yourself how much you spend on energy, on transit, or on food and then imagine what the world would look like if we all gave ten percent of that amount for global reforestation. My own energy budget is under $200/month, but ten percent of that would be about twenty dollars. That would be enough to plant two trees each month, about 25 per year. I spend a bit more than that on food for our family. Ten percent of that would allow planting nearly fifty trees each year. Please use the link paypal.tnsaladino42@hotmail.com 

Give what you can and may your days be filled with the abundance that comes from asking What else is possible? Together we are transforming the planet.

About otherfishwrap

One of the last of the Baby Boomers, I remember where I was when JFK was shot. Good story. Born during the Cuban Missile Crisis, my life has been spent studying, practicing skills and attitudes that reflect justice and the sanctity of Earth, Air, Fire, Water & Spirit. Trained as an educator, my life has been devoted to cultural development and social justice.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

