“P” triple “A”, “R”, “K”!

PAAARK, an acronym to help describe what we do here at ECO-Tours of Wisconsin Inc.

Permaculture responds to needs in the environment in much the same way as a tree falling to the forest floor can. We set the buffet. What wonders come, are largely a reflection of how hospitable we make it for what comes after. Our resources reverberate through time, changing forever the possible futures that await, erring on the side of community, continuity and co-operation, we can begin to spin the wheel in the direction of abundance. The triple “A” in the middle is more than just a trinity, it is shorthand for the infinite number of “A”s that could be associated with that letter. Abundance, amoeba, awareness, articulation, actualization, etc. The letters stand for Permaculture, Awareness Articulated through Action, Revealed in Kind.

I'm a bio-regional Boy! Some have called me a bioneer.

I’m a bio-regional Boy! Some have called me a bioneer.

I cannot know how many will be influenced by my associations, the resources I offer, or the time that I spend cultivating life on all fronts, but with luck, these words will have the desired impact on many to arrest the development of what one of my mentors called Servoglobe. The technocrats keep shoving things down our throats that reek of business as usual, exploitation, oppression and subjugation. Permaculture is about redistribution of the vast wealth that the oligarchy wields dominion over, forsaking the destructive and toxic ways that things have been done in the past, and re-thinking the three core values of our existence. Can we produce food? Can we produce profit? Can we equitably distribute our abundance? The waste of the ultra rich alone, has sowed the seeds of their own demise, casting off more than enough for the transition to sustainability to take place. My garden has seen two bumper crop years with virtually no tending save a few meditative forays.
Two years ago I had my first three harvest garden bed, and now that I have discovered this technique I will never go back to single row cropping, and last year I broke the height limits that I had set by limiting my own imagination. I planted gourds and they went over twenty feet tall! Now, I’m thinking living architecture, much like hops. As you can see, redistribution of such an abundance as a planting of just six seeds that in turn yields biomass the size of a two car garage, and you begin to understand the need for these principles to be adopted, to gain converts, transform the landscape and enrich the soils of our many and varied nations.

About otherfishwrap

One of the last of the Baby Boomers, I remember where I was when JFK was shot. Good story. Born during the Cuban Missile Crisis, my life has been spent studying, practicing skills and attitudes that reflect justice and the sanctity of Earth, Air, Fire, Water & Spirit. Trained as an educator, my life has been devoted to cultural development and social justice.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

